Wrapping It Up

Dear Readers:

I have been posting this blog for about 3 1/2 years now with thousands of visitor views. Although viewer comments have been scant, I do hope my personal reflections on suffering have been helpful to those walking down similar paths. I am sure we all have much more to learn on surviving suffering.

With this post, comes an end to this particular blog’s era.  Perhaps a blog with a different theme may evolve one day. With my sister’s overall progress so limited since her accident over five years ago, it has become difficult to even write about our story from positive prospectives.  Responses to this tragedy could have been so different!  However each person must decide whether to press forward or remain stuck in life.

I have experienced both losses and gains throughout this journey.  However in summing up, I choose to dwell on the positives. Getting my first book published on a very personal subject, I see as a positive, overall.  My choosing to move forward in personal therapy and group support, regardless of the circumstantial negatives, is another positive. Although my deciding to set appropriate boundaries with family and friends has cost me relationships, the most important one with my Heavenly Father has accelerated. I am an emotionally and spiritually healthier person now than when this blog began, choosing positive life choices by Yahweh’s mercy and grace.

I close by thanking those for taking an interest in our story. Hopefully some of the posts of these last years can be re-read to bring reminders to us all that one need not walk down a dark night of the soul alone.  The LORD wants to walk it with you if only you grant Him that invitation. His presence is essential on the journey!

Shalom,

Martin Bass

About Our Dark Night of the Soul: Finding Solace Through Suffering

Our Dark Night of the Soul: Finding Solace Through Suffering shares the true story about a sudden family tragedy. As author of the book to be published in the summer of 2014, the true account tells of my sister being rear ended by a drunk driver. She barely survives the high speed crash being left to live as a quadriplegic. Written from a brother's perspective, the manuscript shares the heartfelt story of ongoing physical and emotional pain experienced by both victim and family. Only through God's grace can a family survive such a tragedy!
This entry was posted in Suffering. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wrapping It Up

  1. Dottie Johnson says:

    I will miss hearing your thoughts in this blog. Suffering takes many forms, and I believe your openness has helped me take a more compassionate attitude towards the suffering people I have encountered since your blog started. But there is still a level of frustration felt in knowing that Elaine and your family’s needs are so great, and our efforts seem so small and inadequate. You have been a wonderful example of how to cope with suffering and tragedy and you set a high standard for the rest of us to follow. I still hurt for your pain in this tragedy, as well as Elaine’s and Don’s suffering. Though our presence is grossly inadequate, Jim and I are always available to your family in whatever way we are able to assist. We continue in lifting all of you in our prayers.

    Love from Dottie and Jim

  2. Tammy McDaniel Inman and the McDaniel Family says:

    There have been times that your posts have spoke to me deeply and I wanted to comment and did not, but rest assured they were read and sometimes shared with others. I think you are aware that we lost Mom in May. We have had a great deal of peace knowing she was ready, we had done all we could for her and we had a few months to prepare and talk with her. Still her presence is missed and the Holiday’s will be different without her here with us. I know your Mom’s passing was different with it being somewhat unexpected. They were both wonderful “ladies” who taught us so much in our formative years. Elaine’s journey has also taught me not to take the little things for granted. I am so sorry that it has been such a difficult time for her and her family and I pray for her. I wish there was more I could do. Your book was touching and honest and I shared it with several other people. Your family will always have a special place in the hearts of our family…..

    Love to you, Elaine and your families.

Leave a Reply

