Rocky Starts

Following late 2014 surprises, our new year began on a rocky start. About five weeks following my mom’s sudden death, a careless driver in traffic plowed head-on into our car. It occurred as my wife and I were driving from my mom’s former residence after a full day of clearing out her possessions. Fortunately, we suffered no major injuries, mainly aggravating, lingering neck and back pain. Besides that, insurance company hassles later ensued delaying the eventual repair of our car.

In the midst of outpatient back treatment for me and my wife, personal grief over Mom’s death still made its regular visits to me. My sister Elaine continued being challenged by complicated, declining health concerns. Hearing sad news of two friends facing major critical illnesses brought more personal anguish. Regardless of heartaches and hardships, daily events still marched forward, not taking a holiday from life’s demands.

Yesterday I read in my devotional that we are to be grateful for the trials sent our way. It indicated how those trials bring us closer to God. I know that biblical truth as reality in my head, yet the fact often challenges my spiritual heart. Regardless of how I feel, I still know God works for good in the lives of His children (Romans 8:28).

The trials of life may do one of two things: 1) take you to your knees, desperately pleading for Christ’s help by faith; 2) provoke a vehement shaking of one’s fist at God. Number one is the correct response to trouble. We are refined in the fire as we humbly bow the knee and cry out Abba, Father. We have not been promised an easy life. We have been promised that the Lord will never leave or forsake His children in whatever comes our way (Hebrews 13:5).

So, if 2015 has gotten off to a rocky start for you, take courage that you are not alone. The Father in Heaven knows just what you are going through. Isn’t that the very reason His Son Jesus sent the Holy Spirit to comfort us? Be of good cheer as He has overcome the world sending us His peace (John 16:33). Let’s keep pressing on!

About Our Dark Night of the Soul: Finding Solace Through Suffering

Our Dark Night of the Soul: Finding Solace Through Suffering shares the true story about a sudden family tragedy. As author of the book to be published in the summer of 2014, the true account tells of my sister being rear ended by a drunk driver. She barely survives the high speed crash being left to live as a quadriplegic. Written from a brother's perspective, the manuscript shares the heartfelt story of ongoing physical and emotional pain experienced by both victim and family. Only through God's grace can a family survive such a tragedy!
This entry was posted in Suffering. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

