The Anger Tree

Last week after my seething anger had been unmasked, further spiritual revelations followed. In reflecting upon years of debilitating circumstances accumulating layers of personal anger, God mercifully bestowed upon me a startling picture one recent, sleepless night. He showed me a huge tree rooted deeply in anger. Extending from the anger tree-a variety of limbs including resentment, depression, hurt feelings, lust and unforgiveness.

Further study proved that at least one of the Greek words for anger in Scripture shared the same root word with lust. In my attempting to ‘stuff’ anger rather than fully confess and forsake it, a host of additional sins had overtaken me. 

Freedom and remedy from the choking tree and its limbs demanded my confessing and forsaking of sin–a task not accomplished alone. Through my prayers and confession time with close friends in Christ, God freed me of years of anger along with their attached besetting sins. This confession time included my choosing to forgive a host of people personally believed to have been already forgiven.

God also uses our pain to bring gain to others. An elder at my church asked me to share with his class this past Sunday. Initially, the thoughts of my sharing such personal revelations challenged me. However God’s plan prevailed with my sharing the message, invoking more personal revelations and another man at church asking me for help in the same areas.

Now the challenge lies before me to stay free and continue to walk in peaceful freedom. In taking each thought captive to the obedience to Christ, my peace can continue. Despite scores of past and present pain, Christ came to set the captive free. He who is set free in Christ is truly free, indeed. Thank You, God, for revealing deep-rooted sinfulness, destroying its hold over us and transforming Your children only through the power of our Resurrected Savior!

About Our Dark Night of the Soul: Finding Solace Through Suffering

Our Dark Night of the Soul: Finding Solace Through Suffering shares the true story about a sudden family tragedy. As author of the book to be published in the summer of 2014, the true account tells of my sister being rear ended by a drunk driver. She barely survives the high speed crash being left to live as a quadriplegic. Written from a brother's perspective, the manuscript shares the heartfelt story of ongoing physical and emotional pain experienced by both victim and family. Only through God's grace can a family survive such a tragedy!
This entry was posted in Suffering and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

